Hi all

I'm very new to nim, like '4 days ago' new.

I'm a very experienced software developer, though probably specializing in 'older technologies'.

Nim seems to me to be the perfect mix of efficiency and expression, and I'd like to see its adoption grow.

What can I do to help get nim to a v1.0 release?

2018-01-10 10:25:11
Welcome aboard! What do you mean under term older technologies?
2018-01-10 11:08:19

What can I do to help get nim to a v1.0 release?

Make this number go under 1000

2018-01-10 11:08:49
2vg

Hi Kevin Welcome Nim-land !!

you can see many Issue

And... can make other wrapper not Here

2018-01-10 11:25:21

That is entirely up to Araq.

Everyone (including myself) has been hyping up the idea of The Great Epic Version One Point Oh Release, as if that really requires some rigid standard of achievement. I am starting to wonder whether that is a good thing, from the "expectations game" psychological point of view.

What if 0.9.2 was really 1.0 but no one noticed?

What if Nim just kept on going... 0.18, 0.19, 0.20... 0.9998, 0.9999, 0.10000, 0.10001...

What if someone told you that version 0.17.2 is actually 17.2?

What if Nim used year.month based versioning, like Ubuntu?

Either way, financial donations definitely help.

2018-01-11 02:53:58

What do you mean under term older technologies?

For the first couple of programming jobs I had I literally had physical wyse60 and vt100 terminals sitting on my desk, connected up via 9600 baud (or 19200 if I was lucky) serial lines.

I have an interest in lexing and parsing and tended to like writing utility programs to help manage our code base (ie. show me all the functions defined in, and all the external functions called from, this particular source file).

One company where I worked was not prepared to pay for a C compiler so I ended writing some basic parsers in awk.